Prof. Krystyna Jabłońska and prof. Wojciech Paszkowicz
in International Union of Crystalography


  The IUCr is an International Scientific Union Its objectives are to promote international cooperation in crystallography and to contribute to all aspects of crystallography, to promote international publication of crystallographic research, to facilitate standardization of methods, units, nomenclatures and symbols, and to form a focus for the relations of crystallography to other sciences. 2014 was announced by United Nations the International Year of Crystallography. The first Congress and General Assembly IUCr took place in Cambridge, USA in 1948.
During election conducted at the 23rd Congress and General Assembly of the International Union of Crystallography, held in Montreal (Canada), 5-13 August, 2014, Prof. Krystyna Jablonska was elected member of the IUCr Commssion on XAFS, and Prof. Wojciech Paszkowicz was elected consultant of the IUCr Commission on Powder Diffraction, (both for the period 2014-2017). Poland is represented in 23 commissions by twelve members and three consultants.