Registration & Payment

The total fee (including living costs, conference materials, receptions, conference banquet, and conference proceedings) is:

for the Conference only:

- **1300** PLN before May 10th (early registration)
- **1400** PLN after May 10th

for the School and the Conference:

- **1650** PLN before May 10th (early registration)
- **1750** PLN after May 10th

Typical accommodation is in 2- or 3-person rooms (all equipped with bathroom, telephone, wireless web access, satellite TV, radio). Limited number of single rooms is also available. They will be distributed on the 'first come first served' basis (booking should be made definitely before May 10th). Additional payment for a single room is:

- 300 PLN for the Conference only
- 420 PLN for the Conference and the School

The payment should be transferred in Polish currency (złoty, PLN) to the bank account:

BPH o/Warszawa PL 77 1060 0076 0000 3210 0014 4494 Swift code: BPHKPLPK Instytut Fizyki PAN, Warszawa XXXVIII Jaszowiec 2009

All bank charges are on the account of the payer. Please include in the bank transfer documents the names of participants with statements whether they participate in School and/or Conference.

The conference fee can be paid also by a credit card or by cash in Polish currency directly upon an arrival. However, such participants must register earlier.

The **registration** must be done electronically on the conference web site:

www.ifpan.edu.pl/Jaszowiec

International Advisory Committee

Günther Bauer (Linz)
Elisha Cohen (Haifa)
Laurence Eaves (Nottingham)
Jacek K. Furdyna (Notre Dame)
Paweł Hawrylak (Ottawa)
Detlef Hommel (Bremen)
Hideo Ohno (Sendai)
Marek Potemski (Grenoble)
Maurice S. Skolnick (Sheffield)
Peter Vogl (Munich)
Wladek Walukiewicz (Berkeley)
Dimitri Yakovley (Dortmund)

Program Committee

Tomasz Dietl Marek Godlewski Perła Kacman Jerzy Łusakowski Jacek A. Majewski - Chairman Michał Nawrocki **Piotr Perlin** Tomasz Słupiński - Secretary **Tomasz Story** Tadeusz Suski Jacek Szczytko - Tutorial Session Chairman **Dariusz Wasik** Andrzej Witowski Arkadiusz Wójs **Tomasz Wojtowicz** Jerzy Wróbel

Organizing Committee

Agnieszka Jędrzejewska Jacek. A. Majewski Tomasz Słupiński Jacek Szczytko Maciej Zajączkowski





Organized by:

Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw Institute of High Pressure Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences

Committee on Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences Foundation "Pro Physica"

Call for Papers March 2009 The "Jaszowiec" meetings have become, through many years of evolution, the traditional place of annual review of current achievements in semiconductor physics.

Overviews are presented by outstanding researchers (selected and invited by the Advisory and Program Committees) in a series of plenary morning lectures. The contributed papers of the conference attendees are presented in the form of oral and poster presentations during afternoon and evening sessions.

Remote location of the meeting and a daily time schedule with late afternoons free of lectures make an atmosphere of a fruitful workshop, additionally strengthened by many social events.

Official language of conference is English.

The School and Conference will take place in **Krynica-Zdrój**, a beautiful mountain resort in south of Poland, on June 19-26. The Conference (June 22-26, Monday to Friday, preferred arrival on Sunday evening, June 21st) will be preceded by the School, i.e. Special Tutorial Session (June 20-21, Saturday to Sunday, preferred arrival on Friday evening, June 19th). The registration office will be open since Friday, June 19th, 16:00, in

Hotel Motyl, ul. Leśna 1, 33-380 Krynica-Zdrój.

Participants who need Polish visa are kindly asked to contact Conference Secretary for the Invitation Letter.

Invited speakers

Ian Appelbaum - University of Maryland, USA

Alberta Bonanni - Johanes Kepler Universitaet Linz, Austria

Jan Gaj - University of Warsaw, Poland

Michael Giersig - Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH, Germany

Elżbieta Guziewicz - Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

Moty Heiblum - Weizmann Institute, Israel

Victor Klimov - Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA

Alois Krost - Otto-von-Guericke Universität, Magdeburg, Germany

Paweł Machnikowski - Wrocław University of Technology, Poland

Amalia Patane - Nottingham University, UK

Michel Pioro-Ladriere - University of Sherbrooke, Canada & ICORP JST Agency, Japan

Maciej Sawicki - Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

Fred Schedin - University of Manchester, UK

Lieven M. K. Vandersypen - Kavli Institute of Nanotechnology, Delft, Holland

Valery Zwiller - Kavli Institute of Nanotechnology, Delft, Holland

Raphaël Butté - Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne Ecublens, Switzerland

Jacek Baranowski – University of Warsaw & ITME, Poland

Detlef Hommel - Universität Bremen, Germany

School – Special Tutorial Session

Wojciech Knap - CNRS, Montpellier, France

Robin Nicholas - Oxford University, UK

Andrew Ramsay - University of Sheffield, UK

For more information on the Special Tutorial Session, including **the possibilities of financial support for participating students**, please visit the conference website, bookmark: School – Special Tutorial Session.

Abstracts

Abstracts should be submitted electronically according to the rules given on the conference web site.

Submission deadline is March, 29th.

Acceptance of the contributed papers for presentation is based solely on the content of abstracts. Abstracts should clearly spell out the originality, importance and novelty of the contribution. Please necessarily include an e-mail address of the corresponding author. The Program Committee's judgment will be mailed to authors soon after April 26th.

The abstracts will be published in a conference booklet.

Proceedings

Invited talks, as well as all the accepted papers will be published in a special issue of Acta Physica Polonica A. The manuscripts, prepared according to the rules of APPA, should be delivered to the registration desk on the first day of the conference.

The correspondence should be forwarded

to the Secretary:

Dr. Tomasz Słupiński

Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw ul. Hoża 69, 00-681 Warszawa, Poland

tel.: +48(22) 55-46864 fax: +48(22) 621-9712

e-mail: jasz2009@ifpan.edu.pl

or, in the case of school matters, to the School Chairman

Dr. Jacek Szczytko

Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw ul. Hoża 69, 00-681 Warszawa, Poland

tel.: +48(22) 55-32387 fax: +48(22) 621-9712

e-mail: Jacek.Szczytko@fuw.edu.pl

For more information, please visit the conference website:

www.ifpan.edu.pl/Jaszowiec