

XXXVIII International School & Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors, "Jaszowiec" 2009

KRYNICA-ZDRÓJ, POLAND, June 19th -26th, 2009

Organized by: Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw Institute of High Pressure Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences

Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Al. Lotników 32/46, 02-668 Warsaw, Poland

FIRST ANOUNCEMENT

We would like to invite you to participate in the XXXVIII International School and Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors "Jaszowiec" 2009. It is the continuation of the annual meetings that have been gathering international semiconductor physics community in Poland since 1972.

This year, the School and Conference will be organized in beautiful mountain resort **Krynica-Zdrój, on June 19-26, 2009**. Moving to this new conference venue gives us an opportunity to have lectures in a very nice air-conditioned lecture room and improve accommodation standard. This move also opens new possibilities for the Conference to adjust better to quickly changing world of semiconductors.

Overviews of recent achievements in semiconductor physics will be presented by outstanding researches (selected and invited by the Advisory and Program Committees) in a series of plenary morning lectures. The contributed papers of the conference attendees will be presented in the form of oral and poster presentations during evening sessions (Abstract submission deadline is 29th of March, 2009).

In 2009, the symposium "Growth for devices" has been planed. The invited speakers will give an overview of the present fabrication techniques of semiconducting structures that could be employed in functional devices. The symposium will end with a summarizing rump session.

Proceedings of the Conference will be published as a volume of Acta Physica Polonica A.

Official language of the School and Conference is English.

Further information can be found on the WEB PAGE - <u>http://www.ifpan.edu.pl/Jaszowiec</u>

With the best wishes

On behalf of the Organizing Committee

Majewsh

Jacek A. Majewski - Chairman

Günther Bauer Linz Elisha Cohen Haifa Laurence Eaves Nottingham Jacek K. Furdyna Notre Dame Paweł Hawrylak Ottawa **Detlef Hommel** Bremen Hideo Ohno Sendai Marek Potemski Grenoble Maurice S. Skolnick Sheffield Peter Vogl Munich Wladek Walukiewicz Berkeley Dimitri Yakovlev Dortmund

Advisory Committee

Program Committee

Tomasz Dietl Marek Godlewski Perła Kacman Jerzy Łusakowski Jacek A. Majewski Michał Nawrocki **Piotr Perlin** Tomasz Słupiński **Tomasz Story** Tadeusz Suski Jacek Szczytko Dariusz Wasik Andrzej Witowski Arek Wójs Tomek Wójtowicz Jerzy Wróbel

Chairman Jacek A. Majewski jasz2009@ifpan.edu.pl

Secretary Tomasz Słupiński jasz2009@ifpan.edu.pl